LIVE Pauzeconcert Kloosterkerk Den Haag

LIVE Pauzeconcert Kloosterkerk Den Haag

In 1792, Beethoven left Bonn and went to Vienna to study with Haydn. Around this time, he wrote a set of three duos for clarinet and bassoon.
This programme combines one of these duos (here played on violin and viola), with a violin duo by Haydn.

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Duo for 2 Violins in G major, from 6 Duos, Op. 6
Tempo di Comodo

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770- 1827)
Duo for Violin and Viola in F major, from 3 Duets for Clarinet and Bassoon, WoO. 27
Allegro affettuoso
Aria. Larghetto
Rondo. Allegretto moderato

Estehaagse Ensemble

The name 'Estehaagse Ensemble' is a play on ‘Esterhazy’, the palace where Haydn worked, and ‘Haagse’, meaning of Den Haag, the city where the ensemble is based.

It was founded by baroque violinists James Hewitt (graduated a few years ago from the Royal Conservatory of Den Haag with Pavlo Beznoziuk, and now teacher of historical improvisation there), and Xiangji Zeng (currently studying at the Royal Conservatory with Lucy van Dael). They specialise in chamber music on historical instruments, working together regularly as a duo, but also as a string trio, and as a baroque trio sonata ensemble.

Repertoire ranges from the seventeenth to early nineteenth centuries, and the ensemble plays in venues ranging from churches throughout the Netherlands to private living room concerts.

LIVE Pauzeconcert Kloosterkerk Den Haag